Table of Contents
What happened
The final and awards ceremony of the RISC-V + AI Collaborative Innovation Challenge — part of the Integrated Circuit Frontier Technology track of the HICOOL 2026 Global Entrepreneurship Competition — was held in Beijing and reported on September 2, 2026. The event was hosted by the Beijing Overseas Talents Association and jointly organised by the Beijing RISC-V Digital Infrastructure Innovation Center and Beijing ESWIN Computing Technology Co., Ltd. (ESWIN Computing).
ESWIN supplied its EIC7700 development board as the core hardware platform for all participating teams. According to the company, participants used the boards to debug algorithms, deploy models and validate projects on physical hardware, with support spanning board access, technical and community services, and pre-competition training. ESWIN opened a dedicated HICOOL section in its developer community for downloads and Q&A, and separately exhibited RISC-V computing and intelligent-vehicle chips at the HICOOL Industry Achievements Exhibition.
The board is described by ESWIN as the first high-performance RISC-V development board, designed for RISC-V + AI, supporting local large language model and AI agent deployment, and compatible with Ubuntu, UnionTech OS and Kylin.
That last point is the interesting one for working engineers: a RISC-V board positioned for on-device LLM and agent workloads, with three Linux distributions named, is a meaningfully different product category from a RISC-V board positioned as a hobbyist SBC.
Verified EIC7700 SoC parameters
From ESWIN's official EIC7700 Product Brief:
| Parameter | Value |
|---|---|
| CPU | RISC-V RV64GC, 4 cores @ 1.4 GHz |
| Cache | L1 32 KB I + 32 KB D per core (private); L2 256 KB private; L3 4 MB shared; ECC (SECDED) supported |
| DNN accelerator | 13.3 TOPS INT8 |
| Vision DSP | Multiple DSPs, 512 INT8 MAC |
| Memory | Up to 32 GB, 64-bit LPDDR4 / 4x / 5 |
| Video decode | H.265 up to 8K@50 fps, or 32 channels 1080p@30 |
| Video encode | H.265 up to 8K@25 fps, or 13 channels 1080p@30 |
| GPU | OpenGL ES 3.2, EGL 1.4, OpenCL 1.2/2.1 EP2, Vulkan 1.2, Android NN HAL |
| PCIe | Gen3, 4 lanes, RC + EP |
| Networking | 2× GMAC with RGMII |
| USB | 2× USB 3.0/2.0 (DRD) |
| Security | TEE, TRNG, ECDSA, RSA-4096, AES, SM4, DES, HMAC, CRC32; 16 KB OTP |
| Power | Typical 8 W (with CNN) |
| Temperature | −20 °C to 105 °C |
| Package | FC-CSP 17 × 17 mm; FC-BGA 23 × 23 mm |
The −20 °C to 105 °C operating range and the 8 W typical figure are the two numbers that make this an edge-deployment part rather than a dev-only part.
The TOPS discrepancy you need to know about
Two different AI-performance figures are in circulation, and they do not agree:
- 13.3 TOPS INT8 — from ESWIN's official EIC7700 Product Brief, and repeated on ESWIN's own community documentation for the HiFive Premier P550 board (which adds INT8/INT16/FP16 support).
- 19.95 TOPS INT8 — from third-party SBC vendor pages and from Pine64's StarPro64 listing, which attributes the figure to an Imagination AXM-8-256 NPU rated at 19.95 TOPS INT8, 9.975 TOPS INT16 and 9.975 TOPS FP16.
The same third-party pages also quote TSMC 12 nm FFC process and 8K@100 fps decode / 8K@50 fps encode, neither of which appears in the ESWIN Product Brief retrieved for this draft.
We are not reconciling these numbers. The discrepancy is unresolved in public sources, and until ESWIN publishes a datasheet revision that states a single figure, any design margin built on the higher number should be treated as unverified. If NPU throughput is on your critical path, request the figure directly from ESWIN in writing along with the precision and the batch/sparsity conditions it was measured under.
Board-level view: HiFive Premier P550
ESWIN's community documentation describes the HiFive Premier P550 as a modular platform — a P550S system-on-module carrying the EIC7700 SoC, LPDDR5, eMMC, Ethernet PHY and power management, plus a P550C carrier board. It follows the Mini-DTX 203 mm × 170 mm form factor, which is what allows it to drop into a 1U chassis.
Board-level parameters: 16 GB or 32 GB LPDDR5 at 6400 Mbps; 128 GB eMMC plus 16 MB SPI flash; SATA3 and Micro SD; 2× Gigabit Ethernet RJ45 plus 1× 100 Mbps RJ45; M.2 Key E for Wi-Fi; HDMI 2.0 up to 4K@60; MIPI DSI 4-lane; 4× MIPI CSI 2-lane or 2× (2+2)-lane; PCIe Gen3 4-lane in a physical x16 slot; 2× USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-A; 24-pin ATX or 12 V DC input; and a USB Type-C port carrying UART and JTAG for debug.
Why the multi-OS support matters
Ubuntu, UnionTech OS and Kylin are three separate kernel and userspace configurations. Supporting all three on one RISC-V board means the board-level enablement — device tree, bootloader, GPU and NPU drivers — is being maintained across distributions, which is a proxy indicator of how much of the stack is upstream versus vendor-patched. For procurement, three supported distributions also means you are not locked to a single vendor's image if your deployment environment is already standardised on one of them.
Sources
- Beijing E-Town government report, 2026-09-02 — https://kfqgw.beijing.gov.cn/cxyzkfq/yzal/202609/t20260902_4847421.html
- Visit Beijing (English) report on the HICOOL 2026 RISC-V + AI Challenge final — https://english.visitbeijing.com.cn/article/4T2uO2fqeu8
- ESWIN EIC7700 Product Brief (official PDF) — https://www.eswincomputing.com/bocupload/2024/06/07/171773119629660z9pt.pdf
- ESWIN Computing community documentation, hardware platform guide — https://www.eswincomputing.com/community/docs/system/bsp/guide/zh/board.html
- ESWIN EIC77 SBC manual (third-party, 19.95 TOPS / 12 nm figures) — https://www.cncsad.com/en/SBC/intro.html
- Pine64 StarPro64 coverage (Imagination AXM-8-256, 19.95 TOPS) — https://liliputing.com/pine64-starpro64-single-board-pc-with-a-risc-v-processor-and-20-tops-npu-arrives-this-month/
Verification notes
- SoC parameters are quoted from ESWIN's official Product Brief. Board parameters are quoted from ESWIN's community documentation. Both are vendor-published and not independently measured.
- The 13.3 TOPS vs 19.95 TOPS conflict is reported, not resolved. The 12 nm FFC process node appears only on third-party SBC vendor pages and is not stated in the ESWIN Product Brief retrieved; it is flagged as unverified.
- The "first high-performance RISC-V development board" characterisation is attributed to ESWIN, not asserted as fact.
- ESWIN CPU cores are described as SiFive RISC-V cores in ESWIN's community documentation and in third-party coverage; the Product Brief itself states only "RISC-V RV64GC 4 cores @ 1.4 GHz" and does not name SiFive. Both are quoted as published.
- Not disclosed in the sources retrieved: measured LLM tokens-per-second on the EIC7700, supported model sizes, NPU driver licence terms, board pricing, availability, and benchmark methodology behind either TOPS figure. Nothing is estimated.