Table of Contents
What was announced
YiXing Intelligence (奕行智能), a Beijing-area developer of RISC-V cloud AI compute chips, announced the close of a ¥1.5 billion (RMB) Series B round. The company said the proceeds will go to four things: accelerating mass production and commercialisation of its Epoch product series, R&D on next-generation flagship products, building out a hardware–software co-design ecosystem, and expanding into global markets.
For a RISC-V audience, the interesting part is not the round itself. It is that the round is explicitly attached to a system-level product — an AI superpod built on Epoch silicon and a proprietary interconnect called ELink — rather than to a standalone accelerator card.
Who put the money in
The round was jointly led by four Beijing-affiliated funds:
- Beijing Economic and Technological Development Zone Industrial Upgrading Fund
- Beijing High-End Industry Development Investment Fund
- Beijing Information Industry Development Investment Fund
- Beijing Artificial Intelligence Industry Investment Fund
Existing shareholders also increased their positions: HeLi Capital, Boqii Venture Capital, Saiyi Industry Fund, Longjiang Fund, Qingtancapital and JiuKun Venture Capital. The amount was not broken out per investor.
What Epoch is, according to published reports
Epoch is described as a cloud-side, large-scale AI compute chip built on the RISC-V ISA. Reporting from WAIC 2026 attributes the following to the company:
- Epoch is the company's first cloud-grade large-compute RISC-V AI chip, and is described as early to support block-quantised FP8.
- The instruction architecture is layered: base ISA + RVV vector extension + a self-developed matrix extension + a VISA virtual instruction set.
- The next-generation roadmap extends low-bit-width precision to EXFP4 and MXFP4, alongside increases in compute, memory capacity and memory bandwidth.
Treat all of the above as vendor-stated. No clock frequency, core count, peak TOPS/FLOPS, process node, memory type or power envelope has been published, and none should be inferred.
The superpod: 32 to 128 cards per rack
The system-level claim is the part that changes the evaluation. Reporting describes the superpod as:
- 32 to 128 accelerator cards per rack connected at high bandwidth.
- An orthogonal, backplane-less architecture used in place of conventional cable interconnect, intended to improve signal integrity and reduce latency.
- ELink supporting both scale-up inside the superpod and scale-out across nodes, with the company stating the fabric extends to clusters of ten thousand cards.
Two vendor-quoted design figures appear in coverage — interconnect hardware cost reduced by about 80%, and latency in the hundreds of nanoseconds. These are engineering targets stated by the company, not independently measured benchmarks, and one of the sources covering them flags them as such. Do not size a deployment on them.
Epoch chips, accelerator cards and associated hardware are reported to be in mass production and batch delivery, with customers named by sector rather than by name: internet, telecom, finance and energy.
Why the software stack matters more than the silicon here
The most checkable claim in the whole package is software. Coverage states the stack is natively compatible with PyTorch, vLLM and SGLang. That is the actual gate for a cloud AI accelerator: if the serving path works without a private fork, migration cost drops to whatever the operator's own kernel tuning costs. If it does not, the silicon is irrelevant regardless of its peak numbers.
For RISC-V specifically, this is the same pattern that has played out in the server space with RVA23 and enterprise Linux: the architecture becomes viable when mainstream frameworks treat it as a target, not when a datasheet posts a competitive TOPS figure.
What is not disclosed
Nothing below has been published in the sources retrieved, and none of it is estimated here:
- Epoch clock frequency, core count, and microarchitecture generation
- Peak compute in TOPS or FLOPS at any precision
- Process node, die size, transistor count
- Memory type, capacity and bandwidth (HBM generation, if any)
- Card-level and rack-level power draw and cooling requirements
- ELink per-link bandwidth and reachable topology diameter
- Pricing, lead times, and which named customers are in production
- Any benchmark result not produced by the company
Sources
- GMT Eight newswire, YiXing Intelligence Series B (English) — https://gmt8press.com/flash/detail/1301686
- 智东西 (Zhidongxi) feature on the Epoch RISC-V superpod, WAIC 2026 — https://textileartscenter.com/feature/june-fiber-art-picks-3?live-blog-17713058-2026-07-18-da-kai-wang-yi-xin-wen-cha-kan-jing-cai-tu-pian-zhi-dong-xi-zuo-zhe-yun-peng-bia
- Studio Global AI, WAIC 2026 analysis (explicitly labels cost/latency figures as vendor claims) — https://www.studioglobal.ai/zh-cn/discover/answers/what-did-waic-2026-in-shanghai-reveal-6a97acef9532edc46e1e9666
Verification notes
- The ¥1.5B figure and the investor list are taken from an English newswire report of the company announcement. The company's own site was not reachable at the time of drafting; the round was first announced 2026-09-03 and carried by trade press 2026-09-04/05.
- Product claims (block-quantised FP8, EXFP4/MXFP4, 32–128 cards per rack, orthogonal backplane-less design, 10k-card scale-out, PyTorch/vLLM/SGLang support, production status) come from trade-press coverage of WAIC 2026 and are vendor-stated, not independently verified.
- A separate secondary aggregator quoted a "3.2T single-chip interconnect bandwidth" figure for ELink. That number appears in no primary or trade-press source retrieved and is excluded from this draft on purpose.
- No political or supply-chain-autonomy framing has been added. The engineering-relevant reading is multi-source supply, an open ISA with no per-core licence fee, and framework-level compatibility.
- Not disclosed and not estimated: every item in the "What is not disclosed" section above.